Posted by: Artsy Squibbles | August 14, 2006

What’s This World coming to?

Coming to? Coming to. Out of the coma of neglect? Wake up people! Is there some thing going on around your neck of the woods that calls to you, screams at you, shouts, pleads with your conscience for attention. Is there something in your back yard, down the street, across the street, or living room (other than the television) that tells you something has gone wrong with the way we are wired?

I am impressed with the agility and ability, courage and strength of people that have recently been placed in my life through this blogging world. Now in reality there is no logical way I can do everything that I want to do in my life to help other people. That’s just the way it is for the moment. I’m working on learning how to take care of myself. And this blogging is one way that I can give back some small thing. Maybe a word of hope or encouragement through poetry. Maybe a picture that will move a soul into that dance with the devine. Maybe not…but I sure as hell can try.
I read about a small group of people reaching out to help another small group of people in need, through awareness and understanding …well these are the kind of people that I want to call my friends. If you see a need somewhere you help. You don’t shy away from that call. Who are your friends? What do you do together as a group when you go out? What ideals do you share that benefit society at a personal level of time and commitment. Certainly giving a portion of one’s paycheck away is a marvelous thing to do. Allocating time is just as important as fund raising. Lots of people are benefactors… but what about those people that need a hug and no one is willing to hug them. Or a kind word where most are afraid to say anything. Or maybe a silent prayer of hopefulness. A nod in the direction of the hopeless and those who despair. Does my/our fear and lack of knowing prevent me/us from finding the way to help? Do I/we use time and lack of as an excuse to not help those in need?

I have to look at this clearly.

I just spent almost five hours on skype with someone in another country for the very first time. I enjoyed almost every moment of this poetic meeting with seemingly genuine warmth and advice from a delightfuly experienced and talented poet. A gem and treasure whose work I hope to link here in the future. Makes me feel rather inexperienced to say the least.

However, I must stop for a moment and reflect on what I could have done during that time other than what I did do. I could have gotten all my laundry washed during this off day while working on a sculpture. I could have mopped the floors and gotten the vacuuming finished. But then I wouldn’t feel the energy that I do now.

That time I spent was a moment of regeneration for me. So a change of plans, a little less sleep and the work that waits will still get done.

But what of those other wasted minutes. What happened to all those grand plans to build a great blog for others to wander through? And I don’t even know what I’m doing on the internet. Blogging 101. Okay.

I am capable of many things, rants, rages, structure, or not. I think what I am trying to say through all of this is how grateful I am for all the people I have met but that I spend too much time on the internet. Net? Am I caught up in something that I need to back off of for awhile? Is my time here really as useful as I would like it to be? What do I need to change?

If this is not a useful space for others than it is altogether useless. So while I work on a sculpture and let a poem wander between my ears I will adjust accordingly…and maybe this will give me time to volunteer somewhere. Maybe a shelter for teens doing artwork. Maybe serving lunch at a shelter one day a week. Is four hours out of one week all that much? Four hours. What about you?

Leave a Reply

Categories