Posted by: Artsy Squibbles | July 24, 2006

Night and Day?

Oh..Heaven help me. My life is about to be twisted and warped into something I may not be able to handle. At least I’ve had one good nights sleep before the train wreck happens.
I am going to be working a night shift position. I am day person. I love my mornings and my days. Quiet, sunrise, coffee, no talking, the chirps and trills of the birds waking. Which I have noticed actually begins around 4am around here with one particularly loud Mockingbird. And mind you I have only been awake at that time of the morning because the computer is in my bedroom and my daughter is on the computer at that time. That is the whole of it. She is night and I am day. She is a vampire, to borrow a description used by Michael (Meatloaf)Aday for Jim(Really!)Steinman, and I am not. As to my days…she sleeps through these. And so there has been a reasonable amount of peace in this valley. Not anymore!
I’d like to note that one of my other children, now in their early thirties (yeah, I’m getting up there) is also a night person…though not by choice.
This almost legal teenager is ecstatic that I will be working nights and she’ll have access to this beast while I am out foraging for the almighty dollar instead of berries. That almighty buck is for bills…not capes and frills. I am beginning to develop that “whatever” attitude about the entire situation. This is not healthy. And so we plug along trying to communicate the only way we know how…through music and lyrics. Yeah, really. She finds a song that means something to her and shares this expecting me to read her mind. A Louisiana Metal band is one favorite with extreme and deeply scarred lyrics. What’s a mother supposed to do? Listen!
What really surprised me was when she played a song by a Finnish band, Sonata Arctica, and said I should do a video to this. I listened and she was right. I should. Will I have the time now that I’m working forty hours a week and traveling another twenty by bus to get to and from this great job that will keep me up all night? We’ll see. If she does a few extra, cough…cough, chores around here, well then, I might.
At this time I am working on creating two sets of songs, on speculation for Kevin Spacey, without his knowledge. (unless in the unlikely event that he reads this blog) He became the Artistic Director of The Old Vic Theatre in London about two years ago. Well, on the July 4th Charlie Rose Show, Mr. Spacey was describing a Ponto [pawn-tow] (parody and pantomime) that they plan to produce, Cinderella, in December of 2007.

My college courses were primarily in set and costume design so I have been plugging away a bit at a time. Lyrics, character dialogue and development, and costumes. That’s what I do best. Not computers, not phones, not data entry. Not nights.

So here I am at this computer, that I have named Beast. If one can name a car…and this is my vehicle. You understand the battles I may be having. Like the yahoo account that seems to have been taken control of by an alien, aka unknown source. I still can’t log on. Every single time I’ve been on my account in the last two months a pop up saying I am being signed out because I have signed onto another device or computer. Uh, I don’t have another device or computer. What the F***! Yes, I am really pissed with Yahoo! They can send my ID to my other email acct. But they can’t send me my password! What the hell is wrong! I guess I’ll have to close the account. I would much rather access it, get my photos of my grandson, and delete the damn thing and never have anything to do with Yahoo again! So on that note…

It’s a beautiful morning. Cicadas are humming. The sky is still blue and I have chores to do and errands to run. And lots of creative plans to work on. This ought make for my last pleasant day…spent awake. The upside to this new job…on a slow nigt I can use the computer for my writing. You can bet on this…I will be finishing a play before the winter arrives! Nights. Psshht!
Happy Posting!

Leave a Reply

Categories